Code Purple: Day Eighteen

I do all of the things now
that I did before, except
I am not her,
and none of it is the same.

To me, this is sad
because she was young,
free, and open.
She could love
with selfish abandon,
and yet her heart
always followed her home.

These days
I don’t sleep much,
and there is hesitation
in every step I take.
I turn corners
and the sharpness reminds me
of things I’ve lost
and things you’ve broken.

©2015 Jessica Stephenson All Rights Reserved

About inpotentia

Hold Fast.
This entry was posted in Domestic Violence, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Code Purple: Day Eighteen

  1. Pingback: Code Purple: 2015 | In Potentia.

Leave a Reply

