Code Purple: Day Ten

Nighttime.
I am dreaming again.

In my car,
we can’t see the road
through the Smokies.

In the window of
twelve hours’ time,
you leapt from tall ledges,
taught me to forgive
the unforgiveable,
and deliberately
drove us off a cliff.

All because
you thought I lied to you
about fixing the tent.

I am a ghost
of that day.

Still dreaming
about hand stitching
the broken zipper shut
the week before.

I am twenty one
on repeat playback,
mining for youth
in the hands of thieves.

I am thirty two when I awake.

©2015 Jessica Stephenson All Rights Reserved

About inpotentia

Hold Fast.
This entry was posted in Domestic Violence, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Code Purple: Day Ten

  1. Pingback: Code Purple: 2015 | In Potentia.

Leave a Reply

