Code Purple: Day Six

You saw me
as a blank page
you could draw upon—
jagged lines of expectation.
Circles always closing.
Shadows drawn between us.
My face blurred
in charcoal.
Your hands smudged
across my throat.
You are so high
and I am falling
through every color
I once held.
There are threats
written all around me.
My hands cannot erase
where you have touched.
I can only paint over
and over them,
tracing each jagged line
as soft flesh taut over jutting bone.

©2015 Jessica Stephenson All Rights Reserved

About inpotentia

Hold Fast.
This entry was posted in Domestic Violence, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Code Purple: Day Six

  1. Reblogged this on IdealisticRebel's Daily View of Favorites and commented:
    Sister, I am with you 200%. I am impressed with your writing. I invite you to visit my blog, Idealisticrebel. Hugs,
    Barbara

    Like

  2. BWSBL says:

    This poem speaks volumes. “My hands cannot erase where you have touched.” I so get it.

    Like

    • inpotentia says:

      I really felt this one in my core, too. It’s amazing to feel this opening after expending so much of myself closing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • BWSBL says:

        It’s so true. After spewing all of the madness I held secret for so long the clarity is just so ridiculously amazing. I hope you continue to write after DVAM.

        On another note…how is school and the bookstore??

        Like

      • inpotentia says:

        I will definitely do my best to keep writing! A poem a day, even if it’s unshareable, will keep the emptiness away! I’d rather feel it. My mom died a few days before his (lame excuse for a) sentencing, so I have barely survived this internally… But I graduated a month before she passed. I didn’t get to buy the big bookstore, but after rage-quitting I opened my own! It is flourishing, and I finally get to embrace the creative endeavors and hold events that I never had time for at tbe old book factory under the fascist regime haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • BWSBL says:

        My condolences. You’ve been through so much. How wonderful that your mom was still here to see you graduate. I’m sure that made her very proud. And now look at you…owner of your very own bookstore! Kudos! Rage-quitting…been there! Thank you for all of your kind words. I think both of our futures are most definitely bright.

        Like

      • inpotentia says:

        She was… SO proud. I still am. She would be tickled pink if she were still here! It’s so comforting to be understood, thank you. My mom was one of the only people who really got it, but I have my Mike thankfully, and he gets it too 🙂 Cheers to your next chapter, I can’t wait to read all about it!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Code Purple: 2015 | In Potentia.

Leave a Reply

