DVAM Code-Purple: Day Twenty Three

I wish to never walk in your shadow again.
With every failure, there was an “I told you so.”
With every success, a “You didn’t earn this.”

These thoughts are not mine.
I did not come here
to doubt.

But then there was you.
Charming, brave, and irreplaceable.
You brought me into love,
but trapped me in with fear.

No matter how I pushed away,
you pulled me in harder.
I was no match
for your sense of duty,
your righteousness,
your values.

No matter how sick you grew,
I was always the one to blame.
No matter how much I loved you,
It was always you who gained.

©2012 Jessica Stephenson All Rights Reserved

About inpotentia

Hold Fast.
This entry was posted in Domestic Violence, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DVAM Code-Purple: Day Twenty Three

Leave a Reply

